IBD Surgical Outcome Registry

ACPGBI Young Coloproctologist of the Year 2016

Posted 25 April 2016 in

Last week, the ACPGBI President and Executive representatives had the privilege of meeting and interviewing the finalists for the Young Coloproctologist of the Year Award 2016. This is the first time this award has been presented after Council acceptance of a detailed proposal from The Dukes’ Club in 2015.

All applicants were of exceptionally high standard and ACPGBI recognizes the support and contribution of Mr Brendan Moran (Chair) and Members of the Clinical Excellence Awards Committee in scoring the applications to provide a shortlist for interview.

The finalists invited to interview were Andrew Beggs, Richard Brady and Frank McDermott. The interview panel acknowledged the high quality of all the finalists and the significant contributions each has already made in our field, and their potential as our future leaders.

The winner was Andrew Beggs, Clinical Lecturer at Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Birmingham, recognized for his outstanding contributions to education, research and leadership in the field of Coloproctology but most especially for his willingness to lead by example and his enthusiasm in engaging with the profession.

Mr Beggs will receive his award at the Annual Meeting in Edinburgh and will act as an Ambassador for ACPGBI over the coming year.