Our Trustees

Meet our current ACPGBI Trustee Members


  • To provide robust governance to ensure that the Association is fulfilling its charitable aims.
  • To receive and approve an annual statement of accounts ahead of its presentation at the AGM.
  • To ensure a timely return to the Charities Commission.
  • To review and agree the Association’s strategy and assist the Executive Committee of Council with its development.
  • To formally approve recommendations from Council, ahead of their presentation at the AGM, for changes to the Constitution of the Association.

Appointment of the Board of Trustees

  • Executive members are Trustees by virtue of their post within the ACPGBI.
  • Non-Executive members – These were appointed at the Extraordinary General Meeting held on  9 October 2017 at which the revised Articles of Association and the revised Constitution of the Association of Coloproctology of Great Britain and Ireland were adopted.
  • In the future, additional or replacement Trustees will be appointed by the Board of Trustees as they see fit.

Composition of the Board of Trustees

Executive members

Current President, President-Elect, Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer.

Non-Executive members

The Chair is elected from their membership by the Board of Trustees.

Medical – at least five and ideally to include at least one nurse
(note: to avoid conflict of interest, non-Executive membership of the Board of Trustees would debar that member from sitting concurrently on the Council of the ACPGBI or on any of its committees. In the event that a non-Executive member of the Board of Trustees wished to sit on the ACPGBI Council or one of its committees, a period of one year would have to elapse after demitting office from the Board of Trustees before that member could do so.)

Lay (i.e. non-medically qualified individuals) – to include a minimum of two patient representatives, a lawyer, a trustee from a financial background and a non-medical academic.

Duration of appointment

  • Executive members – for the duration of their appointment on the Executive Committee
  • Non-Executive medical members – three years, renewable for a further three years.
  • Non-Executive lay members – three years, renewable for a further three years.


Professor Robert J C Steele, Chair

ACPGBI Past President (Chair)

Professor Robert Steele obtained his initial surgical and academic training in Edinburgh, Hong Kong and Aberdeen and was appointed as Senior Lecturer in Surgery at the University of Nottingham in 1990.  He was then appointed Professor of Surgical Oncology at the University of Dundee in 1996 and as Professor of Surgery and Head of Academic Surgery in 2003.

Jon Bell

Lay Member

Jon is the Chief Financial Officer of London North West Healthcare NHS Trust, a large integrated acute and community organisation that runs St Marks, Northwick Park, Ealing and Central Middlesex hospitals.

Maria Bentley

ACPGBI Patient Trustee

Maria Bentley is a project manager from the North West of England. She lives in Manchester and has spent the last 8 years working for the General Medical Council, the UK’s medical regulator. Maria has Ulcerative Colitis and underwent a colectomy in 2017, which has left her with an ileostomy.

Steve Brown

ACPGBI President-elect

Consultant in Coloproctology in Sheffield since 2002.

Anne Demick

Lay Member

Anne Demick, who is from Northern Ireland, is a recently retired director of a sales and marketing business.

Miss Nicola Fearnhead

ACPGBI President

Miss Nicola Fearnhead has been a Consultant Colorectal Surgeon at Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge since 2006. She is a graduate of Pembroke College, Cambridge and Merton College, Oxford where she was a Rhodes Scholar. Surgical training was undertaken in Bristol and Oxford followed by an International Fellowship in Advanced Colorectal Surgery at the Cleveland Clinic, Ohio, USA in 2005.

Professor Paul Finan

ACPGBI Past President

Professor Paul Finan recently retired from his NHS post as Consultant General and Colorectal Surgeon in Leeds. He remains active in research and holds an honorary chair in colorectal surgery within the University of Leeds.

Mr Seamus Kelly

ACPGBI Honorary Treasurer

Areas of specialty are coloproctology, colorectal cancer, inflammatory bowel disease and colonoscopy. He is also a senior lecturer in surgery

Mr Charles Maxwell-Armstrong

ACPGBI Honorary Secretary

Mr Maxwell-Armstrong is a Consultant Colorectal Surgeon and Honorary Clinical Associate Professor at Nottingham University Hospital. Hospital, Leeds.

Nigel Scott

ACPGBI Past President

Nigel has been a Consultant General and Colorectal Surgeon since 1992 – his first 15 years as a Consultant were at Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust and the last 10 years as a Consultant at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals Foundation Trust (LTHTR).

Graham Williams

ACPGBI Past President

Graham Williams is a Consultant Colorectal Surgeon at the Royal Wolverhampton Hospitals Trust.