The Association of Coloproctology of Great Britain and Ireland

A company limited by guarantee and registered in England & Wales Company Reg No 5962281; Registered Charity 1118063 Royal College of Surgeons of England 35-43 Lincoln's Inn Fields London WC2A 3PE +44 (0)20 7973 0373

admin@acpgbi.org.uk

ACPGBI message of support for Members of Black Asian and Minority Ethnic Groups during COVID-19

17 April 2020

ACPGBI acknowledges that most healthcare professionals who have died from COVID-19 were from Black Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) backgrounds. The national ICNARC data have also indicated that 35% of patients in critical care due to COVID-19 are from BAME groups. This is a major concern as neither figure is representative of our population where only 14% of the population are BAME.

With 44% of NHS healthcare staff from BAME backgrounds, ACPGBI believes it is imperative that we highlight the importance of personal safety in the workplace for our BAME members. As with all clinical frontline staff, we wish to highlight that you should:

- Not feel pressurised into putting yourself at personal risk
- Notify Occupational Health and your line manager of all health problems
- Have adequate access to the appropriate level of PPE for clinical scenarios
- Use safe surgery practices during COVID-19
- Receive appropriate training if re-deployed to an unfamiliar area or starting a new job.

Please do contact ACPGBI if you need support to ensure your safety. We shall do our best to help in any way we can.

The Executive of the Association of Coloproctology of Great Britain & Ireland

President: Miss Nicola Fearnhead President-in-Waiting: Professor Peter Sagar Honorary Treasurer: Mr Seamus Kelly

Chair Education & Training: Miss Laura Hancock

Chair External Affairs: Mr Shahab Siddigi Asst Honorary Treasurer: Mr Artur Harikrishnan President-Elect: Professor Steven Brown

Honorary Secretary: Mr Charles Maxwell Armstrong

Chair Research & Audit: Mr Austin Acheson Chair Multidisciplinary Clinical: Mr Ciaran Walsh Asst Honorary Secretary: Mr James Wheeler BDRF Representative: Miss Nicola Fearnhead